Our Team and Working Groups

Over the last five years, Dr. Campbell has established the following groups of important actors across contexts and all levels of the educational system that are connected as part of the multi-level NIC through the project infrastructure: (a) Neag pre-service science teacher cohorts, (b) early career Neag Alumni, (c) UConn Mentor Teacher Collaborative mentor teachers, (d) regional multidistrict collaborative district science specialists (e.g., Windsor, East Hartford), (e) Connecticut Network of Science Educators and Preservice Teachers made up of Institute of Higher Education (IHE) science education faculty across CT, and (f) a National NGSS Interim Assessment Development Hub (i.e., collaborators from CT, RI).

NIC Leadership Group

Todd Campbell is a professor of science education in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction in the Neag School of Education at the University of Connecticut. Before completing his Ph.D. he was a high school and middle school science teacher in Iowa. His research focuses on cultivating imaginative and equitable representations of STEM activity. This is accomplished in formal science learning environments through partnering with pre-service and in-service science teachers and leaders to collaboratively focus on supporting student use of modeling as an anchoring epistemic practice to reason about events that happen in the natural world. This work extends into informal learning environments through a focus on iterative design of informal learning spaces and equity focused STEM identity research. He is currently the Co-Editor-in-Chief for the Journal of Science Teacher Education. He has also published numerous articles in the NSTA journals and has serviced as a guest editor for a special issue of The Science Teacher focused on developing and using models in September of 2017. 

Photo of Dr. Lisa Lundgren

Lisa Lundgren is a postdoctoral research associate in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction in the Neag School of Education at the University of Connecticut. At Neag, she teaches masters students in a course designed to encourage the development of year-long inquiry projects. She also works on  research associated with the NIC.  Lisa’s research employs a design-based research perspective to develop theoretical insights related to the practice of learning. Her research agenda focuses specifically on the design and development of social media for formal and informal science learning environments.  This work is highlighted by published articles in the Journal of Science Communication, PLoS ONE, and the Journal of Research on Technology in Education.  Prior to earning her Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction at the University of Florida, she worked in museums in Florida and Montana.

NIC Advisory Board

Jeff Greig

Mike DiCicco

Anne Perkins

Dr. Cindy Kern

Holly Hollander

Mentor Teachers Working Group

Laurie Abo

Andrea Handler-Ruiz

Catherine Hunt

Stacy Leone

Lawrence Nevins

Sandra Nichols

Annie Perkins

Elizabeth Petritus

Laura Rodriguez

Theresa Romano

Anagha Sabnis-Samboya

Victoria Schilling

Mario Sousa-Pena

Kaitlin Sullivan

Brett Wojtkowski

Interim Assessment Working Group

John Duffy

Sean Elkins

Jeff Greig

Holly Hollander

Peter McLaren

Preservice Science Teachers Working Group


District Specialists Working Group

Nicole Bay

Elizabeth Cole

Keith Cox

Mike DiCicco

Melissa Gavarrino

Pari Ghetia

Holly Hollander

Alberico Rossi

Mark Ruede

Cheryl Tokarski